Winter is coming

Hi all,
It’s been feeling almost like real winter here and if the weather guessers have it right, I’ll be able to take the “almost” out of the feeling by Friday. We’ve had a little snow each of the last couple nights and it is trying very hard to slide off the roof but just won’t let go. This first picture is the view as we come out the back door.

Temps in the low 30’s starts the slide but it takes several feet of hangover to break it off.

We’ve still got birds a plenty. We have good reports that add up to at least a couple of loons still here and we see flocks of non-loons regularly feeding in front of us. This eagle was sent by Caroline B. who reports it spent a couple hours in this tree on North Bay where they then watched it catch a fish it could not take off with. It flopped to shore with the catch to then devour it there.

The snow hasn’t amounted to much, a couple or three inches which thankfully melts off the driveway while lingering in the more sheltered spots. This is a shot from Rosie.

I’ve missed sending some pictures from Ashley and will go find them for a later mail but this is her latest and she says favorite one of late. We have a little ice in the coves but I’ll bet open water south of the island will be hard to find by the end of the weekend. Enjoy, Mike

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Winter is coming

  1. I don’t know whether it’s just me or if everybody else
    encountering issues with your site. It appears like some of
    the text on your content are running off the screen. Can somebody
    else please comment and let me know if this is
    happening to them as well? This may be a issue with my web browser because I’ve had
    this happen previously. Thanks

  2. Hey I am so happy I found your blog page, I really found you by accident, while I was researching
    on Bing for something else, Nonetheless I am here now and would just like to
    say cheers for a marvelous post and a all round entertaining blog (I also love
    the theme/design), I don’t have time to browse it all at
    the minute but I have saved it and also added in your RSS feeds, so when I have
    time I will be back to read more, Please do keep up
    the superb job.

  3. Every weekend i used to visit this website, for the reason that i
    want enjoyment, since this this web page conations actually pleasant funny material
    too.

  4. I don’t know whether it’s just me or if everybody else experiencing issues with your
    site. It appears as if some of the written text within your content are running off the screen. Can somebody else please provide feedback and let me know if this is
    happening to them as well? This might be a issue with my
    internet browser because I’ve had this happen before.

    Kudos

  5. This website was… how do you say it? Relevant!! Finally I
    have found something that helped me. Thank you!

  6. Hi, all the time i used to check weblog posts here early in the daylight, as
    i enjoy to gain knowledge of more and more.

  7. I savour, cause I found exactly what I was looking for. You have
    ended my 4 day long hunt! God Bless you man. Have a nice day.
    Bye

  8. Hiya very cool web site!! Guy .. Beautiful ..
    Wonderful .. I’ll bookmark your website and take the feeds additionally?
    I am glad to search out a lot of useful info here in the submit, we
    need work out more strategies on this regard, thank you for sharing.
    . . . . .

  9. Rick Ward says:

    Thank you so much for the photos and commentary from Lake Dunmore. I really enjoy the posts and photos imagining what it’s like on West Shore Rd where our cottage sits idle and quiet til we come back in May. I miss the lake life but your posts make it easier for my lake withdrawal anxieties. Keep em coming and bundle up. The cold IS coming this weekend.

Leave a Reply

