Quiet Monday

Hi all,
It was late afternoon before I got out on the water, almost dead calm after the rain shower. I thought the loons would be easy to find but not so. They were deep in the corner of Brushes Cove and I wouldn’t have found them at all if not for Sue and Paula pointing me in the right direction. Even then, I couldn’t see them until I was most of the way there because they were very close to shore and the adults were under water more than above.
I did unfortunately easily see two cormorants feeding, one just east of the ski course and one just NE of the island. A speed boat chased the island one airborne, unintentionally I think, but either way it was good. I also saw a loon fly southbound down the west shore. I tried to see if it landed but lost sight of it eventually.
Sue W. gets the credit for these two beautiful pictures. She didn’t say where the screech owl was but

DSCN7878

this Bicknell’s thrush was up on the top of Killington. Most of us will never get to see one. If you don’t know about Bicknell’s thrushes, there is a great article in the latest VCE newsletter. Enjoy, Mike

DSCN7899

This entry was posted in Loonatic Reports. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment